From the Crypt: Ghost Stories | ep1

ghosts-gespenter-spooky-horror-40748.jpg

I could’ve started off my brand new blog with an introduction post, but I’ve been there done that with my beauty blog. So instead, I thought I’d get a quick explanation out the way here, before kicking things off with a bang. I started this blog because of my love for all things dark, scary and conspiracy-related and my need to put this passion somewhere. The comments of these posts and my new twitter (@friendofthed4rk) will be places where you can discuss conspiracies, horror films and anything a bit crazy that you want with me or with others. I basically just wanted to create a space where I could share my passion for dark stuff whilst also giving others a place to do the same.

So without further ado, let’s jump into the first ever episode of From the Crypt: Ghost Stories, where I share with you the paranormal experiences of people from my life and the internet so you can be just as freaked out as them/ me! 

Phoenix: The Chandelier 

“So we lived in this really old 17th century farmhouse that had a big chandelier over the stairway. And one day it just stopped working completely. So we called an electrician out and he went up to the attic and came out saying that we’d played a prank on him because there was no way the chandelier had ever worked. The wiring just didn’t exist, it wasn’t connected to anything. He couldn’t fix it because there was nothing to fix. So we all thought we’d lost our minds. Later that summer it turned on again randomly despite the fact it had NO RUNNING POWER. So my mom got freaked out and started vacuuming it lol”

Phoenix, Ana and I: The slamming door

(Not to be confused with the infamous slamming door haunting (if you know, you know), but still pretty spooky. “So we all shared a flat in Edinburgh this last year (Livv also shared the flat but she’s a skeptic), and the building it was in was pretty old. We hadn’t really noticed much happening throughout the year other than it being a bit creepy and everything broke in classic uni flat style. However, one day we were in Phe’s room sat on her bed just chatting and stuff, and we had the door propped open so we could yell to Livv in her room across the hallway, and none of us were near the door at all. Out of nowhere this ridiculously heavy door just slams by itself, like properly slams. We were super freaked out because like it was really well propped and it wasn’t like a gust of wind could just blow it shut or anything, not to mention there weren’t any windows open. Weird.”

Olivia (@oliviamchale): The woman

“Our old house was a three story Victorian building and my room was on the top floor next to the study and a little room that I was never allowed inside. I always used to wonder why I wasn’t allowed in when I was younger, but then my auntie told me (my mum rented the house to her after we moved out) that there was a small window in there that was quite high up. Because the room wasn’t used much, she would shut the window, but when she’d go back, it would be open again. Just thinking it was wind, she would shut it again, but it would continue to open and this went on for a while. Finally, she decided to nail it shut because it was spooking her a bit and it STILL managed to open. I’ve never been back in the house since she told me.

All sorts used to happen! The dogs would bark at corners of the room, a bowl of stones that used to be on the bathroom windowsill would always end up on the floor but still perfectly in tact, and I used to have nightmares about a woman standing over my bed. My mum is massively into family history, so she looked into the history of the house while we still lived there and found out that a lady lived there called Yolanda. We always joked about her, but when my auntie lived in the house, she got so frightened by all the happenings that she asked Yolanda (not knowing if it was her ghost or if there even was a ghost) to stop and that she promised to respect the house, and absolutely all activity stopped apparently!”

Jake: The Shadowy Figure

“Well, there was this one time that I went to Austria on a coach with my Nan, and step grandad and my parents and my sister, when we got there we were taking loads of pictures of all the snow etc. And then suddenly my Nan said she feels like my grandad is there (he died long long before) and we all thought nothing of it and because it was so cold we ran off inside, when my dad put the photo onto his laptop he could see this weird shadowy figure that my mum said looked like my grandad when he was young in every photo. And he was always either stood behind or walking towards my nan.”

Ana: The Doorbell

“There’s also the one I told you about my old house. We used to have like a stoned driveway so like we could always hear people close to our door, but because my wee brother was young we decided to take away the doorbell, and it kept making noises so we took it off. So like we could tell someone was coming because of the stones. And then one day the doorbell rang, we went to the door and there was no one at the door but we also didn’t hear like anyone walking the steps and when we checked the doorbell, it had no battery in it, like inside, like it couldn’t physically do that, and it did that a couple of times. And then later on in the day my mum was having a shower and me and Scott heard like this child screaming.”

 

So that was the first ever episode of From the Crypt: Ghost Stories, and also my first ever post on this blog! It took me ages to get the aesthetic of the blog etc right, and I really hope you love it as much as I do! Make sure you subscribe to my mailing list / follow me on twitter @friendofthed4rk for updates – and also please feel free to dm me your very own scary stories or topic suggestions, or email them to nyctophiliaspookline@gmail.com

PS. A huge thank you to everyone who shared their stories with me; keep ’em coming!

Stay spooky,

Carla

9 thoughts on “From the Crypt: Ghost Stories | ep1

Leave a comment